School of Social Work Online Course: Reporting Child Abuse
Identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment.
For Mandated Reporters
Effective September 1, 2004, licensed social workers in New York State have become mandated reporters of child maltreatment. Adelphi University has been designated as an approved provider of this course by the New York State Education Department for the training of mandated reporters of child abuse and maltreatment. Under this law, all licensed social workers must complete two hours of coursework. This online course contains the curriculum you need to meet the new requirements. This course is not applicable for CEUs for license renewal with the NYSED Social Work Board that began January 1, 2015.
Once you have passed the test, you can print the certificate of completion and submit it with your LMSW or LCSW application or renewal.
(Graduating Adelphi MSW students must submit the certificate of completion directly to the School along with Form 2 of the New York State LMSW application.)
This module includes course work pertaining to required training for the identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. The law stipulates that the curriculum content include information regarding the physical and behavioral indicators of child abuse and maltreatment, the reporting requirements, the mechanisms for reporting, and the actions social workers are now mandated to take regarding child maltreatment.
The course material takes an estimated two hours to learn. However, the actual time may vary by individual. Begin reviewing course material now.
Before you begin, you may also choose to view these additional resources.
After you have mastered the course material, you can proceed to register for the test.
The fees are as follows:
Adelphi Students: $20 (enrolled in the current or last two semesters)
All Others: $30
The test takes approximately 15 minutes. A printable certificate will be granted upon successful completion of the test.
Please note: If you do not pass, you can retake the test within five days without incurring any additional fees. After five days, you will be required to pay the applicable fee again. The test must be taken within five days once the registration fee has been paid.