The President’s Award for Excellence has been created to provide recognition for extraordinary service to Adelphi, and personally honor exceptional employees for their effort and contribution to our University.

Awardees will receive a commemorative plaque and a $2,500 stipend, and will be honored at a combined celebratory reception with those receiving other service awards.

A maximum of four honorees (up to two union and two nonunion staff) will be selected.

Who decides who receives the Award?

An advisory committee (the Committee) for the President’s Award for Excellence will submit its recommendations to the president. This Committee represents six different constituencies of Adelphi, for optimum fairness in their selection of awardees, and typically consists of:

  • Two Students
  • Two to Four previous year honorees
  • Two Local 153 representatives
  • Two faculty members
  • Two administrators
  • Two co-chairs

The co-chairs of the diverse committee will receive and review portfolio packets to ensure that all documents have been submitted. Nominations for the award may come from any person in the campus community. An employee who is a relative may not submit a nomination but may provide a supporting letter of recommendation.

Who is eligible for the Award?

To be nominated for the President’s Award for Excellence, the individual:

  1. Must be an Adelphi employee (nonfaculty), and
  2. Must have completed at least two years of continuous full‑time service in the department for which he or she works.

The president, the Executive Leadership Team, assistant and associate provosts, assistant and associate vice presidents, executive directors, deans, academic department chairs, and full‑time faculty are not eligible for this award.

Former award recipients are eligible for renomination five years after receiving their awards. Those nonrecipients who have been previously nominated may be nominated again.

What are the criteria for selection?

The standard for the President’s Award for Excellence is exceptionally high. Recipients should be individuals who have repeatedly sought to better themselves, their units and, ultimately, Adelphi University, and, in so doing, have transcended normal definitions of excellence. At all position levels, they should be those who can serve as role models for the University.

  • Each awardee should be a person who has helped Adelphi, or our community, reach even higher levels of achievement.
  • Since the Committee members may not be familiar with those nominated, it is recommended that all three letters of recommendation be as descriptive as possible.
  • The evaluation of candidates shall be done on the basis of substantive evidence included in the portfolio for each candidate.
    • Descriptions of the categories in the guidelines should be provided in the nominator’s letter.
    • Specific examples as may be appropriate should be provided.
  • The responsibility for assembling and submitting the portfolio for each nominee rests with the nominator.
    • The nominee should be involved only in confirming employment dates at Adelphi and may provide a list of names of persons from whom letters of recommendation may be solicited.
    • Individual nominees should not be given the responsibility of preparing their own portfolio or submitting narrative statements on their own behalf.
  • The deliberations of the Committee will be strictly confidential.

What is the deadline to submit a nomination?

The nomination period for 2020 has ended.

  • 2019
    Grace Adamo,
    Rosemary Garabedian,
    Jacqueline Johnston,
    Shirley Komansky
  • 2018
    Theresa Creta,
    Lori Letzler,
    Tracy Nilsen,
    Adam Visconti
  • 2017
    Scott Finkelstein,
    Thomas Jennings,
    Sheryl Mihopulos,
    Diane Petrouskie
  • 2016
    Award was not offered.
  • 2015
    Andrea Caligiuri,
    Lori Hoeffner,
    Erica Klein,
    Mitchell Nagler
  • 2014
    Rosemary Bradshaw,
    Laura Ludlam,
    Barbara Schor,
    Thomas Siracusa, Sr.
  • 2013
    Michael Berthel,
    Ellen Lee,
    Gerard Lennon,
    Jeffrey Trask
  • 2012
    Kali Chan,
    Debbie Kyriacou,
    Nava Lerer,
    Ryan Monro
  • 2011
    Edwin Guerrero,
    Raymond Hughes,
    Brian Rothschild,
    Kathleen Watchorn
  • 2010
    Bruce Brine,
    Donald Duerbeck,
    Liz Kash,
    Leslie Willoughby
  • 2009
    Muriel Herring,
    Shirley Komansky,
    James Kosloski,
    Steve Prenner
  • 2008
    Carol Ann Boyle,
    Carol Phelan,
    Roseanne Russell,
    Robert Shipley
  • 2007
    Patricia Anelante,
    Jean DeRosa,
    Fred Hicks,
    Carol Smith
  • 2006
    Joseph Battaglia,
    Joan Cigna,
    Renate Lasmanis,
    Deborah Ramirez
  • 2005
    Joseph DeGearo,
    Patricia Garofalo,
    Craig Kennedy,
    Laura Reitano
  • 2004
    Peter Borchetta,
    Robert Conaghan,
    Ada Marcial,
    Charles Shopsis
  • 2003
    Virginia Bruchhauser,
    Diane Caracciolo,
    Rodrigo Hoyos,
    Della Hudson-Tomlin
  • 2002
    Enrique Acosta,
    Denise Bynes,
    Pedro Guzman,
    Ruth McShane
  • 2001
    Award was not offered.
  • 2000
    Award was not offered.
  • 1999
    James Campbell,
    Esther Goodcuff,
    Patricia Mitchell,
    Joseph Posillico,
    Mariann Roesler
Phone Number
Levermore Hall, 203

Search Menu